What's New
Update: Spring 2023

PoP in Action | Havruta Across the Generations | PoP Educational Havruta | Shavuot Guide for Independent Learning | PoP Calendar

 

PoP Educator Update

Spring 2023

Spring is in the air, and learning is blossoming in PoP classrooms across the country! We invite you into PoP classrooms to see students and teachers in action in our new PoP video. Read on to see more about the power of havruta learning; this Update showcases young people and their parents sharing a havruta experience, and PoP math educators working in havruta to deepen their teaching practice.

We wish you a joyful Shavuot, filled with Torah learning and deep connection!

Allison Cook & Orit Kent
Co-Founders and Directors
Pedagogy of Partnership

 

PoP's Teaching and Learning in Action

We are thrilled to share this new PoP video with you, highlighting the deep learning and connection fostered by teachers and students working with PoP. We hope it will inspire you with what’s possible in the classroom!
 

 

Havruta Across the Generations: Milken Community School

In February, Milken welcomed parents of 7th grade students to campus for a morning of havruta learning, inspired by their work with PoP. Parents and children studied a text from Parashat Yitro, using a PoP havruta protocol. After discussing the text and its meaning, each havruta pair created a torn paper midrash to reflect their understanding of the text. It was a wonderful morning of learning together!

 

It All Adds Up with PoP! PoP Educational Havruta

PoP’s new educational havruta initiative has brought PoP educators from across the country together to engage in havruta learning to reflect on their teaching practice! We asked PoP-trained math teachers Sarah Langer at Boston’s Jewish Community Day School and Kate Burstein at Chicago Jewish Day School to share about their experience learning together.

In our educational havruta, Peter Liljedahl's Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics is our shared text. We are using this text as a guide to continue deepening the PoP practices we use in our classrooms. We are encouraging our students to look for evidence, and to explain their reasoning. Our work with PoP and with each other helps us foster learning environments where students move towards greater understanding of math content through inquiry and collaboration.

 

PoP's Shavuot Guide for Independent Learning

PoP-start your learning this Shavuot with Pedagogy of Partnership’s Shavuot learning guide. This guide provides practical steps for meaningful and uplifting Torah learning for all.

DOWNLOAD

 

 

 

PoP Siyum Celebration for all PoP Educators

June 1 at 8:00 PM Eastern / 7:00 PM Central / 5:00 PM Pacific

We will celebrate the work of PoP teachers and school leaders across the country! If you are interested in attending please contact [email protected].

PoP’s Online Introductory Institute

Translate your learning into practice and meet the upcoming school year with renewed energy and new tools and materials. This 3-afternoon online program is suited to both Jewish studies and general studies teachers new to PoP.

LEARN MORE

REGISTER NOW

Experienced PoP Educators Institute

Monday, August 7-Tuesday, August 8, 2023 at 1:00-5:00 PM Eastern / 12:00-4:00 PM Central / 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM Pacific

Don’t miss the online summer Institute for Experienced PoP Educators with 1 or more years of PoP experience. If you attended the Institute in 2022, you are invited to come back to continue to build your PoP practices with new opportunities for growing your PoP toolkit.

LEARN MORE

REGISTER NOW

For more information contact Lauren at[email protected].

 

Be in touch if you want to share a glimpse of PoP in action in your classroom or school in future updates!

© 2023 Pedagogy of Partnership | [email protected]

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER FOR UPDATES
FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA